Devotion on Following Christ

Romans 10:9

“because, if you confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved.”

           We live in a fast paced, “how-to” culture. Whenever we want to know how to do something, we just ask Siri or Jeeves, and a world of information is at our fingertips. I’ve seen this desire for instant answers translate into my faith. I want to know how to be more Christ-like, how to share my faith, and how to pray.  I want to know His plan for my life, and I want to know it now. We desire to learn exactly what God calls us to do. Should I join this club or that one? What should my major be? Do I need to find an internship this summer, or can I do something adventurous? Who should I date? Where should I live? Am I ready for the real world? Etc. The good news is, the Bible gives us a direction; not a path. We don’t have to go out and search for God’s will. He will meet us where we are! Following Christ isn’t defined by what we do, anyways. All we need to do is say, “Yes,” to the opportunities God is already presenting to us. Following Christ is making a daily decision to, “confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe with your heart that God raised him from the dead” (Romans 10:9). When we allow this truth to overwhelm us with love and transform our hearts, we get the privilege of living for a purpose greater than ourselves. Seeing results of this daily decision may take time, and that’s okay. We don’t have to worry about the “best” path to take. Whatever it is we decide to do, we do it to honor the Lord, and He leads us in the right direction.

Prayer:   Lord, Thank you for your Son and for viewing me as worth saving. May I recognize You in everything, and may I make the daily decision to align my desires with Yours.

 

Leave a Reply

